Skip to content
07-848 2005

V-Ray for 3ds Max

Free Trial

This page provides information on activating and using your V-Ray Free Trial.

Last updated 1 September 2026

This page provides information on activating and using your V-Ray Free Trial.

Overview

The V-Ray Free Trial activation consists of the following steps:

  1. Go to the trial page and start your free trial
  2. Complete the checkout process
  3. Download V-Ray
  4. Install V-Ray
  5. Activate your product

Steps

Visit the Free Trial Page

Go to the V-Ray Trial page and click Start your trial under the product you would like to try. You can choose whether your license is Named or Floating, whether you want the Solo or Collection product bundle, and whether you want the subscription to be monthly or annual. To learn more, see: Chaos Suite offerings.

Complete the Checkout Process

Enter your email address and billing details, and complete the checkout process.

Activate your Chaos Account (non-registered users)

After completing the checkout process, you will receive an account setup email from Chaos. Use the link in the email to set a password and activate your account.

Download and Install V-Ray

For the steps, see the Installation page.

Log in To Use the Product

When you open up 3ds Max and start a render with V-Ray, a pop-up window appears. Click Sign in. Once you are signed in, you can use V-Ray with your trial license, and the pop-up window in 3ds Max disappears.

You can now use V-Ray for 3ds Max on your system. You can confirm this from the V-Ray > Licensing > Chaos account window.

A successful activation switches the Sign in button to the Sign out button.

Alternatively, you can also check the status of your license in the Chaos License Server.

Canceling the Subscription

If you wish to cancel the subscription, you can do so from the Active Products page of the my.chaos website. The Cancel subscription link is located next to the Auto renewal status.

Click on the link, fill out the questionnaire, and you will disable the auto-renewal. You can continue using the trial until its expiration date, but it will be removed from your account and will not renew after that.