Skip to content
07-848 2005

KeyShot Studio

Revision Manager

Instead of overwriting the BIP file, the Revision Manager will create a serialized backup every time that you save your scene. The result is a .BIP.XX file (where “XX” is the revision index number) every time that you save. This allows you to revert to any saved version of your BIP file or delete revisions that you...

Last updated 3 August 2026

Instead of overwriting the BIP file, the Revision Manager will create a serialized backup every time that you save your scene. The result is a .BIP.XX file (where “XX” is the revision index number) every time that you save. This allows you to revert to any saved version of your BIP file or delete revisions that you don’t need anymore.

Enable Revision Manager

You enable the Revision manager in Preferences

  • Windows: Edit > Preferences > General > Backup Revisions
  • Mac: KeyShot Studio > Preferences > General > Backup Revisions

The Backup history depth enables you to control how many revisions are saved.

Preferences backup revision

Manage Your Revisions

The instructions below assume that you’ve enabled Backup Revisions, and that you’ve saved your scene at least twice.

Revision manager1

1. With your scene open, go to File > Revision Manager. The Revision Manager window appears.

Revision manager2

2. From the Revisions list, select the version (revision) of your scene to which you wish to revert. Then, click Revert to selected version.

Revision manager3

3. To delete old revisions, simply click Delete old revisions.