Skip to content
07-848 2005

SketchUp support

LayOut

Create drawings, presentations and construction documents.

Articles in this category

Adding Tables to a Document

Create LayOut tables or import .xlsx and .csv data.

LayOut

Adding Text, Labels, and Dimensions

LayOut text, labels and dimensions.

LayOut

Adding and Editing Keyboard Shortcuts

Manage LayOut keyboard shortcuts in Preferences.

LayOut

Applying SketchUp Styles

SketchUp styles bundle preset line widths, colors, materials, and other similar effects. In LayOut, you can change a SketchUp model’s style in the styles section of the SketchUp Model panel.

LayOut

Applying Styles

With LayOut’s Style tool (), you can sample the style settings applied to one entity and apply those same settings to another entity.To apply a style from one entity to another, follow these steps:

LayOut

Arranging, Moving, Rotating, and Scaling Entities

Arrange and resize LayOut entities using tools and the grid.

LayOut

Automating Title Block Text with Auto-Text Tags

LayOut's Auto-Text generates title block text like dates, page numbers, or other custom text that you define. Auto-Text tags help improve accuracy and can even save some time.

LayOut

Bending Lines and Shapes with Paths and Points

Bend LayOut lines and shapes with the path editor.

LayOut

Choosing Colors

Choose and organise LayOut colours in the Colors panel.

LayOut

Copying and Pasting, Locking, Erasing, and Other Editing Tasks

Copy, cut, paste, undo and delete in LayOut.

LayOut

Create a PDF

When you export a PDF of a document, LayOut creates a single PDF file that contains your document pages. To export your document as a PDF, follow these steps:Select File > Export.

LayOut

Creating Arcs

Draw LayOut arcs and manage dashed lines in inserted SketchUp files.

LayOut

Creating Documents in LayOut

Create SketchUp documents and presentations in LayOut.

LayOut

Creating Panel Trays

LayOut panels for document editing.

LayOut

Creating a LayOut Document

The first thing you will see when opening LayOut is the Welcome Window. The Welcome Window is where you can create new files from templates and continue work on ongoing projects.

LayOut

Creating a Scaled Drawing

Within a group, you can apply a scale to a 2D drawing so that all geometry in that group reflects the selected scale. This geometry includes all native LayOut entity types.

LayOut

Creating a Template in LayOut

Reuse LayOut document designs as templates.

LayOut

Customizing Line Widths and Styles

Customise LayOut line styling and dashed lines in inserted SketchUp files.

LayOut

Customizing Toolbars and Menus

Customise or create LayOut toolbars.

LayOut

Customizing the Interface and Setting Preferences

Customise the LayOut interface.

LayOut

Document Setup

After you create a new document in LayOut, you may want to check and adjust your settings in the Document Setup dialog box. Each section of Document Setup contains options to help you configure your document.

LayOut

Drawing Basic Lines

Draw and style basic LayOut lines.

LayOut

Drawing Lines and Shapes

Draw LayOut lines and shapes.

LayOut

Drawing a Circle or Ellipse

The LayOut Circle () and Ellipse () tools let you draw circles and ellipses. These tools appear in both the Main and Drawing toolbars. You can also access the tools by selecting Tools > Circles from the menu and clicking the tool you would like to use.

LayOut

Export as Image Files

Export LayOut pages as .jpg or .png files.

LayOut

Exporting CAD Data from LayOut

Export LayOut CAD data to DWG or DXF.

LayOut

Exporting or Printing Your LayOut Document

Print, export or present a LayOut document.

LayOut

Extracting Source Content from a LayOut File

Extract source content from a LayOut file.

LayOut

Filling Shapes with Colors and Patterns

Add colours and material hatches with Fill and Pattern.

LayOut

Formatting Text

Format readable LayOut text and match project branding.

LayOut

General

LayOut General settings and Auto-Renderer controls.

LayOut

Grouping Entities

In LayOut, groups are a way to keep related elements organized in the drawing area. Groups can also make selecting and copying multiple elements easier. For example, if you know you'll always want to select a text box and a shape together, make it a group so you just need to select it once.

LayOut

Importing CAD Data into LayOut

Import CAD data into LayOut.

LayOut

Importing a SketchUp Model

Import SketchUp models into LayOut.

LayOut

Inserting Images

Images can enhance your LayOut documents all sorts of ways, from a photorealistic rendering of a proposed design to a small branding element like a logo. The following table outlines the file formats that LayOut supports. You can insert an image file in any of these formats into your document.

LayOut

Introducing the LayOut Interface

The LayOut interface contains the tools and features you need to create 2D documents and presentations from your 3D models. LayOut and SketchUp are made to work together.

LayOut

Labeling Items in Your Document

With LayOut's Label tool (), you create a label entity with a text box, a line (technically called a leader), and an arrow or endpoint pointing to a specific item in the drawing area. The following figure illustrates a few ways you can customize labels:

LayOut

LayOut

Create LayOut documents from SketchUp models.

LayOut

LayOut Tools

LayOut default toolbar tools.

LayOut

Making Rectangles

LayOut rectangle tools and dashed lines in inserted SketchUp files.

LayOut

Making a Clipping Mask

Mask a model or image to a shape.

LayOut

Managing Changes and Updates to SketchUp Files

Edit geometry in SketchUp and viewport settings in LayOut.

LayOut

Managing and Navigating Pages

Manage and navigate LayOut pages.

LayOut

Marking Dimensions

LayOut's Linear Dimension () and Angular Dimension () tools can label a distance or angle. In the following figure, you see an example of a linear and an angular dimension.

LayOut

Offsetting a Line or Shape

Offset LayOut lines and shapes.

LayOut

Performance

The Performance section is full of options that can help you adjust the way LayOut handles graphics to improve overall performance.

LayOut

Perspective and Scale

A SketchUp model’s view can affect both perspective and scale. You can choose any of SketchUp’s standard views in LayOut in the SketchUp Model panel under Camera. By default, most SketchUp models are in Perspective view. Changing to Parallel Projection, an orthographic view, can better show a model’s scale.

LayOut

Presenting Your LayOut Document

Show LayOut full-screen with View > Start Presentation.

LayOut

Printing Your Document

Set up and print LayOut documents using the steps in this guide.

LayOut

Rendering Models

When you make changes to a SketchUp model in your document you may need to render that model before it reflects those changes. You can control how and when LayOut renders your SketchUp models in the Viewport section of the SketchUp Model panel.

LayOut

Saving a LayOut Document

Save LayOut files with File > Save or File > Save As.

LayOut

Selecting Scenes

Switch SketchUp scenes in a LayOut viewport.

LayOut

Selecting Things

Select and edit one or more LayOut entities.

LayOut

Setting Preferences

LayOut’s Preferences dialog contains options that can help you customize LayOut in a way that works best for you. Each section of Preferences covers a different set of options.

LayOut

Shaping Polygons

Draw LayOut polygons with three or more sides.

LayOut

SketchUp Model Effects

Adjust model effects in LayOut's SketchUp Model panel.

LayOut

SketchUp Models in LayOut

SketchUp and LayOut are designed to work together. When you bring a Sketchup model into your LayOut document you can make changes to that model without going back to SketchUp. You can then sync up both your LayOut document and SketchUp file, sharing changes across both.

LayOut

Splitting and Joining to Create Complex Shapes

Join and split LayOut lines and shapes.

LayOut

Typing, Importing, and Changing Text

Although documents tend to include more visual elements than text, you likely want a little text to add headings, bullet points, or other text to your document.In LayOut, you use the Text tool () to type text into a bounded or unbounded text box.

LayOut

Use the Zoom and Pan tool to view your model

LayOut provides several options to help you navigate your documents. The Zoom tools () and the Pan Tool () can help you focus on a specific part of your document or give you a wider view of your whole document.

LayOut

Using Inferences

An inference point is another point in your document you can use as a guide when you draw or move an object. LayOut’s inference engine is similar to SketchUp’s with a few differences that make how inferences work in LayOut unique.

LayOut

Using Layers

Control LayOut page entities with layers.

LayOut

Using the Drafting Tools

LayOut’s drafting tools can help bypass unnecessary selections and eliminate extra work when performing simple 2D tasks like detailing and diagramming. These tools can be found in the Main Toolbar.Fillet and ChamferFillet and Chamfer share space in the LayOut interface.

LayOut

Viewport Camera Tools

Select a LayOut model and open Edit 3D View for camera controls.

LayOut

Working with Dashes in SketchUp Files

In LayOut's 2D paper space, you have the most control of the quality and styling of the linework in your SketchUp model.To get the most out of your model in LayOut, you'll want to set up scenes that capture model views and styling, and also assign tags to objects whose lines you want to style distinctly.

LayOut

Working with Scrapbooks of Reusable Entities

LayOut’s scrapbooks help you store and access a wide variety of reusable entities. The Scrapbooks panel contains several premade scrapbooks for common entities like arrows or signs.

LayOut